Puerile witterings…

Yes, folks. I’ve arrived. Not only is my blog linked to a member of the Royal Family (well, her sister anyway) but it has been denounced this morning in the Daily Fail. I can die happy.

Ok, the link with is somewhat tenuous. But not tenuous enough for the Mail to use it as a stick with which to beat the Duchess of Cambridge’s parents.

Allow me to explain. Bringing up Charlie appears on the ‘tackily titled’ (their words, dear reader) blogroll of a wonderful site called The Party Times. I link back to them, too. It’s an excellent resource for all manner of party fayre and their web page is edited, apparently, by the lovely Pippa Middleton (a fact I confess I was very happy to discover this morning).

Now, Miss Middleton’s parents are moving house. Not only is this big news for the Daily Mail (over 1500 words worth, courtesy of Paul Scott) but because their daughter edits a site that includes a link to a blog (I danced with a man, who danced with a girl…) that was less than gushing in its assessment of the Queen’s diamond jubilee, it has given the Mail an excuse to issue stern warnings to the Middletons that they should: ‘ensure there is nothing on their self-promoting website that could offend their daughter’s royal in-laws.’

Here’s the post in question: http://www.bringingupcharlie.co.uk/2012/06/thats-all-folks.html. I didn’t think it was too critical. But according to the Daily Mail it’s an ‘anti-monarchist tract’ and proof that the ‘the striving Middletons’ have ‘taken their eye off the ball’ as they ‘continue their inexorable social rise’.

Oh dear!

As I ‘ruminated churlishly on the Queen’s Jubilee’ and ‘wrote mockingly’ about the flotilla while ‘poking fun at the pop concert’ I was putting them in grave jeopardy. Apparently.

Still, as the ‘paper itself goes on to say, at least The Royal Family will be ‘unfazed by such puerile witterings…’

Me too, Paul.

But don’t be too hard on yourself. Takes one to know one, as they say.

Update: since posting this I have been inundated by at least three requests to provide a link to the original Daily Mail article. So that was it.

Goes against the grain, yknow…

42 thoughts on “Puerile witterings…

  1. notSupermum says:

    Well done on being denounced by the Daily Fail. Onwards and upwards!

  2. Sarah says:

    I don't know what was wrong with that post. It's not anti-monarchist at all, more like anti-hysteria.Sounds like someone's got too much time on his hands and is making a mountain out of a molehill.

  3. Merry says:

    Well. One can only hope that you are another wheel in the cog system that will eventually allow the dail fail to self combust!

  4. Scarlet Blue says:

    Have you got a link to the article, Mr Dotts? Let's give 'em hell :-)Sx

  5. Scarlet Blue says:

    Ha ha!!! I found the article!! That is hysterical.The article suggests they the Middleton's published your blog post… when I suppose some of it just appeared on their Blogrol.What a plank Paul Scott is – totally clueless about how blogs work.Sx

  6. On one level – what an achievement!On another – talk about mountain out of molehill! I'm sure Pippa's not at all bothered about your jubilee post. Sorry … just realised that last sentence might have dashed all your hopes 🙂

  7. Potty Mummy says:

    Wow – can we say 'we knew him when…'? Denounced by the Fail, Tim? You have made my day!

  8. Brilliant! I thought it was fairly supportive post as it goes… Still, nice to be denounced by the Daily Fail – one step closer to sainthood, I'd say 🙂

  9. I left a comment telling them they wer e silly and you were an award winning daddy blogging DUDE !(I'm so mature)

  10. Steve says:

    A medal is on it's way to you in the post!

  11. Jayne says:

    Denounced by the Daily Fail? You are my new hero.

  12. So that is why you have been missed off on the honours list once again.

  13. squidsin says:

    AMAZING! That is a weird yet great accidental achievement!

  14. Kylie says:

    priceless, what an achievement!

  15. BNM says:

    Its a good thing they don't read any of mine then!Good on you Tim – you made the Daily Fail!BNM

  16. Pippa W says:

    My other half thought this hilarious, he kept saying but doesn't he know that Tim is an award winning blogger?!

  17. I think media types are scared of us Twitter using blog types. Not only can we report the news quicker than they can, but in some cases we are better writers. Could Mr Scott have used any more "The Times Circa 1950" words in that article?I think your article just said what many thought. My generation aren't Royalists at all- I couldn't care either way whether they are here or not. The pop concert was dire and more to do with an exercise in getting an OBE for Gary Barlow than actually catering to what her Madge would listen to. I doubt she even knew who half those lot were, and the best bit of the night, my neighbour Rolf, was cut off! As for the Flotilla, it was boring after the first hour, even my boat obsessed son asked for mercy and wanted to watch Beebies instead.God bless the Mail, so stuck in the dark ages I'm surprised they even have the resources to find an internet site, much less to know what a blog is!

  18. Nothing like infamy!:) You are an inspiration we can all aspire to!!

  19. Aly says:

    Oh Tim you've arrived! I love your puerile witterings 😉

  20. Tim Atkinson says:

    Indeed, the only way IS up from the DM, NSM!

  21. Tim Atkinson says:

    Ah, but never let the facts spoil a good story Sarah! As you said, someone with far too much time desperate for a story, I should imagine.

  22. Tim Atkinson says:

    A very small wheel, albeit Merry. But oh, what happy day will that be?

  23. Tim Atkinson says:

    I have, Scarlett. In fact, although it pains me to do so, I have added it to the post…

  24. Tim Atkinson says:

    … although now I see you found it anyway. I rather suspect Mr Scott knows perfectly well how blogs and blogrolls work but is patronisingly assuming a certain level of technical ignorance among his readers. But that's just my puerile wittering for you!

  25. Tim Atkinson says:

    Autographs later…

  26. Tim Atkinson says:

    As long as it doesn't come with free martyrdom included Mel…

  27. Tim Atkinson says:

    Thanks Becky! Yours may be the only comment (in the five hundred or so) to have referenced the blog, which is quite a mark of distinction in itself.

  28. Tim Atkinson says:

    That's very kind, Steve, but don't I get to go the Palace for an award ceremony an' everything? Oh, hang on…

  29. Tim Atkinson says:

    Feet of clay though Jane, feet of clay…

  30. Tim Atkinson says:

    I know. Good job I'd given up hope, eh?

  31. Tim Atkinson says:

    Accidental? I wouldn't call marrying a member of the Royal Family accidental Squidsin…Oh, hang on. You mean ME!

  32. Curse and curses how come my Jubilee party didn't make the paper *sniff* 😉

  33. Tim Atkinson says:

    All publicity is good publicity as someone once said Kylie.

  34. Tim Atkinson says:

    Oh, but they do BNM, they do.Just wait and see…

  35. Tim Atkinson says:

    I know. Don't they know who I am?!

  36. Tim Atkinson says:

    It's amazing how deep they'll did isn't it Claire?But on a different tack, your 'neighbour Rolf?' Now there's class!

  37. Tim Atkinson says:

    They've all got it infamy, Ross!

  38. Tim Atkinson says:

    Why, thank you Aly. I love yours too. Not that they're puerile. Or witterings.

  39. Tim Atkinson says:

    Too patriotic, clearly. Did you remember to invite the Sex Pistols?

  40. You have finally arrived! Embrace the madness (theirs not yours of course)

  41. Quiet news day + the power of Ms Middleton to attract traffic = you at the centre of a perfect storm.

Leave a Reply

