On this day…

In 1964 a house, with a door and windows – one, two, three, four – asked if we were ‘ready to play’ for the first time and continued to do so – in the warm, safe, welcoming tones of Brian Cant – for another quarter of a century.

I’ve blogged about the golden age of children’s television before, most recently when our collected ‘Ivor the Engine‘ DVD arrived. And the more I watch it, the more I begin to think that there was something soothing, calming and secure about children’s television then that isn’t always present any more. 
Anyway, if – like me – you’re of a ‘certain age’, you’ll certainly recognise this: 

and this…

8 thoughts on “On this day…

  1. Expat mum says:

    Oh, warm fuzzy memories of looking through the arched window. Brian's voice was particularly soothing. Funny – he's about the only presenter I remember on Playschool.

  2. Oh happy days! I used to love Play School – with Big Ted, Little Ted, Jemima, Humpty and scary doll Hamble. My favourite window was the arched window.

  3. SPOOKY! You commented at the same time as me, and were a fan of the arched window too. Now that does show we're related!

  4. Tim Atkinson says:

    She was rather scary, wasn't she Trish? I'd forgotten about Hamble…

  5. Tim Atkinson says:

    He was the one constant as the likes of Jeremy Irons and Tony Robinson came and went EPM. He also narrated Trumpton, Chigley and Camberwick Green too. Fond memories…

  6. Anonymous says:

    I loved Derek Griffiths presenting this, and the fantastic Floella Benjamin. My favourite toy was Hamble, though Humpty was cool too, and I still sometimes find myself humming Dobbins song to myself – not that I can remember it now when it'd be useful of course… I used to adore Playschool, you're right there was something very calm and comforting about it, which I don't think waybuloo quite replicates…Meg (@amnotfunny)

  7. Anonymous says:

    Funny, have just read the other comments and seems Hamble wasn't that popular! She disappeared in later episodes so perhaps my view was a minority one.. My favourite window was the arched one too though. Anyone remember the clock? I learned how to tell the time from watching Playschool, wish there was a programme which mentioned time for my kids today. Oh and of course Johnny Ball presented it too, and Stuart Laughlin started out there – he runs the production company behind a lot of kids programmes today, so it's influence does continue, sort of..Meg

  8. God I loved PlaySchool!! AND PlayAway with Brian Cant. I Blog about just this kind of childhood nostalgia, so hop over some time and join in the weekly 'Life's a Journey' Link-Up on Tuesdays!! I will share your post… Helen

Leave a Reply

